Fact File

Portugal is part of the euro zone, using the European Union’s official currency. There are seven denominations of bank notes and eight coins: notes of 500, 200, 100, 50, 20, 10 and 5 euros, and coins of 2 and 1 euros and 50, 20, 10, 5, 2, and 1 cents. Many establishments will not accept notes over 50 euros, and some round up amounts to the nearest five cents.  Although coins have a common European side as well as a specific national side, they are accepted in all euro-zone countries.

For people with a visual disability, notes and coins incorporate elements that allow identification through touch.

ATM machines are available in Vila Baleira, on Rua João Gonçalves Zarco and near Largo do Pelourinho. Otherwise, cash or traveller’s cheques can be exchanged at banks, where there is usually a minimum fee of €8.

Your Photos

  • fact01.jpg
  • fact02.jpg
  • fact03.jpg

We use cookies to deliver our services. By using our services, you agree to our use of cookies.